Father’s Day 3D Toolbox Card

Today’s project is a Father’s Day 3D Tool Box card I made for my father. My daughter calls him “Opa” which is German for Grandpa so we used that on the box.

I first was going to make a card that looks like a tool box and then decided not to stop there. I found this Toolbox cut file from Cre8tive Cutz for only $0.99 and purchased it. I followed the directions on sizing and added the SVG to Cricut Design space. The file worked out perfectly!

Reactive Foil and LaminatorAs a special custom touch, I wanted to add “Opa” to the front of the tool box.

I wanted to make the letters and the latch pieces look sort of like they had a chrome finish so I decided to add some silver reactive foil to those pieces.

To add the foil, first those pieces needed to be printed. I added my text to design space and flattened all the images so they would now be print then cut files.

After cutting them out I heated up my laminator to apply some silver reactive foil to the pieces. It worked out really great. I’m super happy with the results.

Gluing the box together was super easy. There was only a few pieces. I added some little decorative dots to the letters to looks like they were riveted on. I also added a little card with a “Happy Father’s Day” note for the inside and it’s ready! The box is the perfect size for a gift card as well if I wanted to pick one up for my dad.

Fathers Day Tool Box

Used in this project:

Leave a Reply

