Shopkins Container Box

My daughter adores Shopkins. If you are not aware of what Shopkins are I suggest you check your surroundings for any young girls around you before clicking that link because chances are if they see it, they are likely to want them as well.

We’ve got little play sets and a ton of these tiny little toys scattered about the place. It’s only a matter of time before we can’t find Carrie Carrot Cake and then all heck will break loose looking for the impossibly small thing. So I am going to try to contain this foreseeable disaster early, if at all possible by getting these little things a container.

If there is an official Shopkins carrying case, my area certainly doesn’t have it. I looked in stores and on Toys R Us web site with no luck. As an alternative, I purchased this ArtBin 6-Compartment Medium Box from Amazon for under $6. It was an Add-On item so I had to have $25 in my cart until I could buy it but it wasn’t long until I was ordering something else from Amazon and this little box came along with it!

I decided I would try to put the Shopkins Logo on the box to customize it. I could not find any readily available SVG file so I was going to have to make it myself with the Sure Cuts A Lot program.

shopkins logoI’m not going to lie. This was almost beyond me. I spend a couple different afternoons attempting to make the image and giving up.

The logo is a little more complex than it looks like. I wanted to layer the entire image with the yellow tag on the bottom up to the white letters on top. What was causing me grief was when pulling in the image into the software, the purple and green layers would cut out the letters. Meaning the purple layer had “Shopkins” cut out in it. That’s fine and all but it means I’d have to perfectly line up the letters inside the cut while applying the white vinyl to the box and I just knew that wasn’t going to happen. I would get out of the lines and then I would hate the project for all eternity.

In the end, my pure stubbornness did pay off. I was able to make the green and purple backgrounds solid so I could lay the white lettering on top of it without having to be so precise. I also opted out of using the blue ribbon at the end and the tiny words on the tag because, well just because I didn’t want to deal with them, honestly.

I cut the logo on my Cricut Explore out of Oracal 631 indoor vinyl. I’m calling this a success even though it is not exactly the same logo and my little Shopkins lover is very happy with her new customized toy container.

Shopkins Container box made with vinyl and cut with my cricut explore using an SVG file.

To save you your own grief at trying to make a Shopkins SVG file, I have included a link to my Shopkins SVG file for your personal use only!  You are welcome!

Comments

  1. Thank you so much for posting this! My little one has asked Santa for a container for her shopkins! Now to figure out how to do the cuts with layers!

    Like

  2. I could kiss you for this! Thanks so much for the file! I was looking for the logo to decorate a container for my daughter’s Shopkins. Looks like it might even be the same one from Amazon. Thanks again!

    Like

  3. Thanks so much! My 7 year old daughter is *just* now getting into the Shopkins fad. (Tardy for the party! LOL), but this file will definitely come in handy! Thanks so much! Now I need to buy vinyl! 🙂

    Like

  4. Debbie Babcock says:

    At almost the midnight how, I cant thank you enough for this. I needed it for my granddaughters Christmas gift. You will be blessed for this someday

    Like

  5. Thank you so much!!!!!! My almost 4 year old is going to FLIP when she see’s her new Shopkins box. I did mine as a print then cut as I have printable vinyl in my stash but not the right colors to layer and it turned out great. I thought I was going to have to search all night for a usable image.

    Like

  6. Thank you! Thank you!! I have spent so much time trying to trace and layer this!

    Like

  7. Oh my goodness, I think I love you! I’ve been trying to make this and I SUCK at it lol. Thank you so so so much my daughter will LOVE this!

    Like

    • Oh I know what you mean. Like I said in the post I tried several times over several days. I totally get it and that’s why I shared it!

      Like

  8. Thank you so much! My daughter will love this!

    Like

  9. Heather says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your free cut file, this will save me a lot of time!

    Like

  10. Thank you so much for your svg file!!! I was looking for one to decorate my daughter’s storage container. The one I got looks a lot like the one you got. Now I just have to decorate it. Thanks again for your Shopkins SVG!!

    Like

  11. You are amazing! Thank you so much. I am making her decorations for her birthday party! This is exactly what I was looking for!!! You’re a life saver!!!

    Like

  12. I don’t understand how to use the file. It only opens in an internet browser.

    Like

    • The SVG file is used with a cutting machine. I used it with my Cricut Explore. Silhouette machines also have the ability to accept SVG files. I’m sure others do too but that is all I’m aware of.

      Like

  13. Thank you so much! This was so fun to make and my daughter will love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

